

EU-Japan Business Round Table – 17th Annual Meeting

"EU and Japan – Paving the way for a renewed industrial partnership"

Monday 27 & Tuesday 28 April 2015 Palais d'Egmont, Place du Petit Sablon, 1000 Brussels

Programme

Monday, 27 April 2015 17:50 Transport leaves 'Steigenberger Grandhotel' for the Palais d'Egmont 17:50 Registration at the Palais d'Egmont 18:00 Official Drinks Reception with Speeches from the EU and Japanese Authorities 18:30 • European Commission Keynote: Daniel Calleja-Crespo, DirectorGeneral for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

20:00 Official Dinner with the EU and Japanese Authorities and Keynote Address

BRT co-Chairman: Fabrice Brégier

Mirror Room

At the start of the meal

- European Commission Keynote Speaker:
 Commissioner Carlos Moedas, Research, Science and Innovation
- BRT co-Chairman: Kazuo Tsukuda

And later

 Jean-Luc Demarty, Director-General, Directorate-General for Trade, European Commission

Ministry of Economy, Trade & Industry Keynote: Mr Yoshihiro Seki,

Parliamentary Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry

• BRT co-Chairman: Fabrice Brégier

22:00 Transport leaves the Palais d'Egmont for 'Steigenberger Grandhotel' and 'The Hotel, Brussels'

Tuesday, 28 April 2015 08:15 Transport leaves 'Steigenberger Grandhotel' for the Palais d'Egmont 08:30 Registration at the Palais d'Egmont '8 bis' street door Light refreshments (tea and coffee) Tapestry Room

09:00	Preparatory Meetings	45 minutes per meeting
	<u>EU-side</u>	Blue Room
	Speaker: Ms Dominique Lambert, Policy Officer – Japan, DG GROW, European Commission	
	<u>Japan-side</u>	Orange Room
	Speakers: H.E. Keiichi Katakami, Ambassador of Japan to the European Union	
	Mr Naoki Ito, Deputy Director-General, Economic Affairs Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	
	Mr Tetsuro Fukunaga, Executive Director, Japan Machinery Center for Trade and Investment	

10:00 Opening Session

Arenberg Room

- Opening remarks by Mr Fabrice Brégier
- Opening remarks by Mr Kazuo Tsukuda

10:15 Theme 1: EU-Japan FTA / EPA – the current status

Arenberg Room

Update and discussion of the latest situation and the current issues of importance to EU and Japanese industry.

35 minutes for the whole session

Chairman: Mr Fabrice Brégier

Themed Discussions

- 1) Presentation by Members
 - EU-side Speaker: Mr Markus Beyrer (BUSINESSEUROPE)

(5 minutes per side)

- Japan-side Speaker: Mr Noriaki Hashimoto (JBCE)
- 2) Discussion

(25 minutes)

10:50 Theme 2: Developing "Regulatory Cooperation" (in the Post FTA era)

Feedback from BRT Members on the EU-Japan Industrial Policy Dialogue document on "Regulatory Cooperation between Japan and the EU".

50 minutes for the whole session

Chairman: Mr Kazuo Tsukuda

- 1) Report by the Japanese and EU Authorities
 - METI: Mr Kazushige Nobutani, Director, Europe Division, Trade Policy Bureau

(10 minutes per side)

- European Commission: Mr Carlo Corazza, Head of Unit, International Affairs and Missions for Growth, DG GROW
- 2) Presentation by Members
 - Japan-side Speaker: Mr Hitoshi Kawaguchi (Nissan)

(5 minutes per side)

- EU-side Speaker: Mr Wolfgang Weber (BASF)
- 3) Discussion (20 minutes)

11:40 Coffee break

Tapestry Room

Arenberg Room

Themed Discussions – continued

12:00 Theme 3: Energy & Climate Change – BRT Position on COP 21

Discussion of a statement on a leading role for industry, for the EU and Japanese Authorities in advance of the COP21 meeting.

20 minutes for the whole session

Chairman: Mr Fabrice Brégier

- 1) Presentation by Members
 - EU-side Speaker: Ms Magali Smets (AREVA)
 - Japan-side Speaker: Mr Hideichi Okada (NEC)

(5 minutes per side)

2) Discussion

(10 minutes)

12:20 Theme 4: EU-Japan Transport Cooperation

Possible cooperation in fields of security, energy, public procurement, smart applications, biofuels, ICT, technology, aviation, etc.

35 minutes for the whole session

Chairman: Mr Kazuo Tsukuda

- 1) Presentation by Members
 - Japan-side Speaker: Mr Yoji Ohashi (ANA)

(5 minutes per side)

• EU-side Speaker: Mr Eckart Von Klaeden (Daimler AG)

2) Discussion (25 minutes)

12:55 Endorsement of Recommendations, Press Release & COP21 paper

Arenberg Room

Joint Session with the Authorities Arenberg Room 14:20 c. 2 hours for 1) Conclusions of the Themed Discussions the whole session The co-Chairmen will summarise the themed discussions' key points. (5 minutes in total) 2) Brief reports by Working Party Leaders (3 minutes per side. Chairman: Mr Kazuo Tsukuda per working party) WPA: Trade Relations, Investment & Regulatory Cooperation Speakers: Mr Hitoshi Kawaguchi (Nissan) and Mr Danny Risberg (EBC) WPB: Life Sciences & Biotechnology, Healthcare & Well-being Speakers: Mr Osamu Nagayama (Chugai Pharmaceutical) and Mr Bernd Halling (Bayer AG) • WPC: Innovation, Information & Communication Technologies Speakers: Mr Chiaki Ito (Fujitsu) and Mr Stéphane Israël (Arianespace) WPD: Financial Services: Accounting and Taxation Speakers: Mr Makoto Kinone (NOMURA Securities) and Mr Philippe Avril (BNP Paribas) • WPE: Energy, Environment and Sustainable Development Speakers: Mr. Hideichi Okada (NEC) and Ms Magali Smets (AREVA) 3) Presentations by the Authorities (5 minutes per speaker) Chairman: Mr Fabrice Brégier Speakers • Mr Yoshihiro Seki, Parliamentary Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry Mr Daniel Calleja-Crespo, Director-General, Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, **European Commission** • Mr Naoki Ito, Deputy Director-General, Economic Affairs Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Ms Maria Asenius. Head of Cabinet for Cecilia Malmström. Commissioner for Trade Mr Kiyoshi Mori, Director-General for International Affairs, Global ICT Strategy Bureau, Ministry of Internal Affairs & Communications Mr Zoran Stančič, Deputy Director-General, Directorate General for Communications Networks, Content & Technology, **European Commission**

16:35 Closing Session

4) Discussion

Arenberg Room

(1 hour)

 The BRT's future role (co-Chairmen-led discussion as to how they see the BRT evolving / working in the coming year(s))

25 minutes for the whole session

Closing remarks

17:15 Farewell Drinks (45 minutes)

Mirror Room