March 18

2021

The EU and Japan : A New Way Forward Industrial Transition Towards Green and Digital Economy

The EU and Japan – A New way Forward

Industrial transition towards green and digital economy

EU Industry Days is Europe’s flagship annual event on industry. It serves as the main platform to discuss industrial challenges and co-develop opportunities and policy responses in an inclusive dialogue with a wide range of partners, also at international level.

Japan and the EU have concluded an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA), which entered into force in February 2019. Together with a more general Strategic Partnership Agreement (SPA), provisionally applied since the same date, and the Partnership on Sustainable Connectivity and Quality Infrastructure signed in September 2019, it has become the cornerstone of an enhanced relationship between the EU and Japan.

The EU and Japan have yet more to gain by working together to grow their economic relationship, and by aligning their mutual interests to find a new way forward in the face of disruptions and challenges across economic and geopolitical spectrum.

The event will be a platform to discuss industrial challenges and co-develop opportunities notably towards three types of cooperation (i) Regulatory cooperation and new standards, (ii) technological cooperation and industrial innovation, and (iii) EU-Japan Business cooperation in third markets, notably in Asia and Africa.

Programme

 

Welcome remarks (17:00 Tokyo / 9:00 Brussels)

 

EU and Japan Public Authorities (17:10 Tokyo / 9:10 Brussels)

   

Industrial transition towards green economy (17:30 Tokyo / 9:30 Brussels)

 

Industrial transition towards digital economy (18:25 Tokyo / 10:25 Brussels)

Closing remarks (19:20 Tokyo / 11:20 Brussels)



[1] Via video recorded message

[2] Video recording scheduled


Webinar
Policy seminars
In Japan

EU-Japan Centre's News

More
The latest issue of the EU-Japan NEWS, the EU-Japan Centre's quarterly newsletter is now available…
Please find below our upcoming webinars which will take place in October: EPA Helpdesk Webinar 41…
The EU-Japan Centre in Tokyo is regularly publishing "Industry and Policy News" from various…

Events

More
20/10/2021
20-10-21 | 10:30 - 11:00 AM CET This is the second round of the online training series “What you should know when exporting to Japan”. It briefs in 30 minutes on the latest information on export…
21/10/2021
In its ongoing efforts to help European SMEs to access the Japanese market, the EU-Japan Centre is co-organising "Export Support" webinars and workshops in cooperation with the EU member…

Library

More
EU-Japan Newsletter, Issue #75October 2021 - EU-Japan NEWS - the Centre's…
Japanese Industry and Policy News August - September 2021Topics covered on this issue: JAPANESE INDUSTRY…
Floating solar power | Ciel & Terre X Minna DenryokuCiel & Terre, a European leader of floating…