Related

High-Level Event - Financing Opportunities for EU-Japan Business Cooperation in Africa

October 19 2023

The event was organised by the Delegation of the European Union to Japan, the EU-Japan Centre for Industrial Cooperation and the EU-Japan Connectivity Partnership Programme.

The event focused on Africa, where ODA projects are dominant but where more proactive participation from the private sector is needed. The objective is to explore how EU and Japanese financing instruments can be used to support the private sector's initiatives in Africa.

The event mainly covered three business areas - energy, transport and critical raw materials - which are key for EU-Japan cooperation with African partners. A certain number of projects are already under public initiatives or about to be launched, and the participation of the private sector will be critical for their success. The event also showcased existing success stories between EU and Japanese companies in Africa and with African partners to share best practices with the audience.

 

General information

Date: Thursday, 19 October 2023

Time: 9 - 11 AM (CET) | 4 - 6 PM (JST) followed by a networking reception and individual meetings until 7 PM (JST) for onsite participants.

Languages: English and Japanese (simultaneous interpretation will be provided)

Hybrid event: onsite in Tokyo and online

Venue: Delegation of the European Union to Japan, Europa House, 4-6-28 Minami-Azabu, Minato-ku, Tokyo 106-0047

 

Agenda

9:00 - 9:10 (CET) | 16:00 - 16:10 (JST) - Opening remarks

Moderated by: Marie SÖDERBERG, Team Leader, EU-Japan Connectivity Partnership

  • Aire KORK, Head of the Political, Press and Information Section, Delegation of the European Union to Japan

9:10 - 9:50 (CET) | 16:10 - 16:50 (JST) - Public financing opportunities in Japan and the EU

This session will introduce the main public infrastructure development priorities and financing opportunities available to EU and Japanese companies in Africa.
Moderated by: Yasuo IZUMI, Key Expert, EU-Japan Connectivity Partnership

  • Shuhei UENO, Deputy Director General for Planning and TICAD Process, Africa Department, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
  • Madalina IVANICA, Deputy Head of Unit, DG GROW, European Commission - online
  • Takahiro KAWAI (Dr.), Director of Critical Minerals Subsidy System Division, Metals Strategy Department, Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)
  • Jean-Louis VILLE, Head of Unit East Asia & the Pacific, EU Directorate General for International Partnership (INTPA), European Commission - online 

9:50 - 10:20 (CET) | 16:50 - 17:20 (JST) - Panel discussion on financial cooperation in Africa

In this session, representatives from EU, Japanese and African financing organisations will discuss the main hurdles to be overcome and the way forward.
Moderated by: Yasuo IZUMI, Key Expert, EU-Japan Connectivity Partnership

  • Antonin CALZAROSSA, Senior Investment Officer, Private Sector Team, European Investment Bank (EIB) - online
  • Ben AKABAYASHI, Director General for New Energy and Power Finance Department 1, Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC)
  • Yoshifumi TOKUSHIGE, Non-Sovereign Operations Identification and Investment Advisory Officer, Asia External Representation Office, African Development Bank Group

10:20 - 10:50 (CET) | 17:20 - 17:50 (JST) Success stories by the private sector

This session will feature companies cooperating and/or jointly investing in projects in Africa.
Moderated by: Florence ARNU, Project Manager, EU-Japan Centre for Industrial Cooperation

  • Vincent DUFOUR, Senior Vice President & General Representative, EDF Japan & South Korea

10:50 - 10:55 (CET) | 17:50 - 17:55 (JST) Closing remarks

  • Manuel HUBERT, Managing Director EU-Japan Centre for Industrial Cooperation

17:55 - 18:00 (JST) Commemorative picture (onsite only)

18:00 - 19:00 (JST) Networking reception / individual meetings between companies and financing organisations (onsite only)

Contact

If you have any questions, please contact the EU-Japan Centre at EJ3A[at]eu-japan.or.jp

EU-Japan Centre's News

More
The EU-Japan Centre is recruiting a Coordinator to support EU-Japan Partnering for Business,…
The EU-Japan Centre is pleased to start a new weekly service by publishing brief summary of the…
Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) has pre-announced a call for applications for the 2024…
JTPP Helpdesk's Weekly Digest of Public Sector Tenders is a selection of tenders found on the Japan…
Offshore Wind, from Belgium to Japan The Ambassador of the Kingdom of Belgium to Japan, HE Mr.…

Events

More
Online and in Japan
17/06/2024 - 12/07/2024
17-21 June 2024, → mandatory week online (open to SMEs and large companies) 08-12 July 2024, → optional week in Japan (open only to SMEs who have completed the first online week) PROGRAMME…
Japan
01/08/2024 - 31/03/2025
  The organization of the Vulcanus Programme is pending reception of a grant by the EU-Japan Centre for Industrial Cooperation for the Japanese fiscal year 2024-2025: Please note that this call is…
Subscribe to
our newsletters

The EU-Japan Centre currently produces 5 newsletters :

  • EU-Japan NEWS - our flagship newsletter covering the Centre's support services, information about EU (or Member States) - Japan cooperation
  • Japanese Industry and Policy News
  • “About Japan” e-News (Only available for EU companies / EU organisations)
  • Japan Tax and Public Procurement Weekly Tender Digest (Only available for EU companies / EU organisations)
  • Tech Transfer Helpdesk Newsletter
Subscribe