General Data

 Latest update: February 2024 

Japan is a representative democracy consisting of 47 prefectures. The country's Constitution dates from 1947 and is the result of an amendment to the Constitution of the Meiji era. The capital of Japan is Tokyo.

Please log in for full access
Subscribe to
our newsletters

The EU-Japan Centre currently produces 5 newsletters :

  • EU-Japan NEWS - our flagship newsletter covering the Centre's support services, information about EU (or Member States) - Japan cooperation
  • Japanese Industry and Policy News
  • “About Japan” e-News (Only available for EU companies / EU organisations)
  • Japan Tax and Public Procurement Weekly Tender Digest (Only available for EU companies / EU organisations)
  • Tech Transfer Helpdesk Newsletter
1 EUR = 171,553 JPY